Click here to email the Tennis Club

The club was formed in 1988 without courts on land donated by the late Jack Adams, resident and benefactor of Coleshill. The original committee was Chris and David George, Sharon and David Hall, Lindsey Eardley, Dumpy Swerling, Helen Spencer and Barry Collins.

The two courts were laid in 1994 and in 2003.

The club now has a thriving membership of over 130.

Situated opposite the Cricket ground, with its own entrance from Tower road the club has two excellent condition courts and a clubhouse. There is adequate parking for players.

An active programme of league matches, inter club matches, casual play and Fun Days are organised throughout the year. Coaching is available for all ages and abilities. An active social programme is also arranged.

Club play takes place on Sundays at 10am and additionally on Tuesday evenings at 6pm from April.

The Tennis club membership is available to all residents of Coleshill and the club welcomes players of all abilities.

A very reasonable Annual membership fee is payable. Details of the benefits of club membership can be obtained by contacting Club Secretary - click here to send email



Tennis Committee

Chairman - Tor Williams
Treasurer - Judi Herbert
Secretary - Gail Wolfendale
Members -  John Davis

                  Maddie Murray

                  Duncan Watts
                  Heather Auton
                  Lee Davis

                  Martin Bossenbroek
                  Claire Priestley
                  Sue Hobbs



picture by Heather Auton Picture by Heather Auton

Tennis Club News - Winter 2018

At the AGM on November 8th Tor Williams was elected our new Chairperson, and Judi Herbert our new Treasurer. The Committee thank Gerry and Susie Gajadharsingh for all their time and support given to the Club over so many years. We would also like to wish them the very best when they move from Coleshill.

We are looking forward to the next tennis club event, which will take place as this newsletter goes to press. It is another potted panto, “Cinderella – A Love Story Unparalysed in the Anals of Romance”, written and directed by Paul Kent. I am happy to say that tickets sold out in a matter of days and I will report about the production in the Spring edition of the newsletter.

At the end of September, we had our annual club dinner at the Red Lion in Coleshill. Everyone had a great time, and the food and service were excellent.  Our thanks go to Roger and his team.

Finals day took place in July. It was a day of excellent tennis with the following becoming worthy champions: -

Men's singles:    Gerry Gajadharsingh

Ladies' singles:  Susie Gajadharsingh

Ladies' doubles:  Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

Men’s doubles:  John Davis & Gerry Gajadharsingh

Mixed doubles:  Lee & John Davis

For the first time, we are going to run a fun Christmas Tennis event on Sunday 30th December. Everyone is welcome – members, non-members and their friends and families, and all abilities. Please do come up to the club at 2.30 pm to work off the Christmas excess and have some fun tennis games followed by mince pies, mulled wine and Christmas music in the Clubhouse.

Come at 3.30 if you do not want to play any tennis.

A final reminder that Sunday Club play continues throughout the winter months from 10.30 am to which all members are welcome.  Also, throughout the year, except during school holidays, there is Ladies’ Coaching on a Wednesday morning at 9.30-10.30, open to members and non-members.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Tennis Club, then please contact Heather Auton – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Wishing you all a very Happy Christmas and New Year, and we look forward to seeing many of you at the panto and at our Christmas Tennis event!

Gail Wolfendale
Club Secretary

Nathan Baggett IMG 8021


Previous Tennis Club Cup Winners
Mixed Doubles Winners ‘Coleshill Tennis Cup’
(donated by Richard Maynard)

1978 R L Maynard & Mrs D J White
1979 D J White & Mrs J J Burton
1980 D McCammon & Mrs C Plaistow
1981 D J White & Mrs A Harper
1982 G Sara & Mrs D J White
1983 G Laurence & Mrs J Maynard
1984 D J White & Mrs M Rothman
1985 M Taylor & Sharon Hall
1986 D J White & Mrs P Hopkirk
1987 Barry Collins & Helen Spencer
1988 A Crook & Mrs M Lloyd Webb

1998 Carol Benton & Sean Byrnes
1999 Carol Benton & Sean Byrnes
2000 Helen Barnes & Graham Pyle
2001 Chris George & Graham Pyle
2002 Sharon Hall & Mike Wellington
2003 Madeleine Murray & Graham Pyle
2004 Jane Butler & Chris Teal
2005 Jane Butler & Chris Teal
2006 Jane Butler & Chris Teal
2007 Susie Gajadharsingh & Gerry Gajadharsingh
2008 Lee Davis & John Davis
2009 Lee Davis & John Davis
2010 Lee Davis & John Davis
2011 Lee Davis & John Davis

2012 Serena Hodgson & Ian Hodgson
2013 Lee Davis & John Davis

2014 Lee Davis & John Davis

2015 Lee Davis & John Davis

2016 Susie & Max Gajadharsingh
2017 Lee Davis & John Davis

        2018 Lee Davis & John Davis

Ladies Doubles Winners ‘Carol Collins Cup’

1998 Carol Benton & Frances Morrison
1999 Sharon Hall & Susie Turner
2000 Sharon Hall & Susie Turner
2001 Helen Barnes & Alex Pond
2002 Lindsey Eardley & Chris George
2003 Helen Spencer & Dumpy Swerling
2004 Sharon Hall & Debbie Codling
2005 Sharon Hall & Susie Turner
2006 Maddie Murray & Margaret Butler
2007 Sharon Hall & Karen Lowe
2008 Maddie Murray & Susie Gajadharsingh
2009 Maddie Murray & Susie Gajadharsingh
2010 Sharon Hall & Karen Lowe
2011 Maddie Murray & Sue Robertson

2012 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

2013 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

2014 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

2015 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

2016 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh
2017 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

        2018 Lee Davis & Susie Gajadharsingh

Men’s Doubles Winners ‘Perry Cup’

1998 Sean Byrnes & Nigel Wolfendale
1999 Gerry Gajadharsingh & Chris Teal
2000 Gerry Gajadharsingh & Chris Teal
2001 Sam Butler & Robin Ferguson
2002 Mike Canon & Graham Pyle
2003 Sam Butler & Robin Ferguson
2004 Codling & Codling

2005 Nigel Wolfendale & Nick Hallchurch
2006 Nigel Wolfendale & Nick Hallchurch
2007 Gerry Gajadharsingh & Neville White
2008 Gerry Gajadharsingh & Neville White
2009 Joseph Hamilton & Neville White
2010 Joseph Hamilton & Neville White
2011 John Davis & Chris Teal

2012 John Davis & Chris Teal

2013 Tom Watts & Rupert Wolfendale

2014 John Davis & Jack Ashby

2015 John Davis & Jack Ashby
2016 John Davis & Jack Ashby

2017 Neville & Oliver White

        2018 John Davis & Gerry Gajadharsingh

Ladies Single’s Winners ‘Spencer Challenge Cup’

1998 Carol Benton
1999 Helen Spencer
2000 Sharon Hall
2001 Helen Spencer
2002 Helen Spencer
2003 Madeleine Murray
2004 Helen Spencer
2005 Helen Spencer
2006 Helen Spencer
2007 Helen Spencer
2008 Helen Spencer
2009 Lee Davis
2010 Maddie Murray
2011 Lee Davis

2012 Lee Davis

2013 Lee Davis

2014 Lee Davis

2015 Susie Gajadharsingh

2016 Tor Williams
2017 Susie Gajadharsingh

2018 Susie Gajadharsingh

Men’s Single’s Winners ‘David George Cup’

1998 Sean Byrnes
1999 Sam Butler
2000 Mike Canon
2001 Nigel Wolfendale
2002 Mike Canon
2003 Nick Hallchurch
2004 Nick Hallchurch
2005 Nick Hallchurch
2006 Neville White
2007 Neville White
2008 Neville White
2009 Neville White
2010 John Davis
2011 John Davis
2012 John Davis

2013 Gerry Gajadharsingh

2014 Gerry Gajadharsingh

2015 Gerry Gajadharsingh

2016 Gerry Gajadharsingh
2017 Tom Watts

        2018 Gerry Gajadharsingh

Junior 16 & Under Winner - ‘Alan Lowe Cup’

2012 - Max Gajadharsingh
2013 - Max Gajadharsingh
2014 - Max Gajadharsingh
2015 - Max Gajadharsingh
We use cookies
This website uses cookies that are essential for the correct operation of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy at the More Information link below. I accept cookies from this site.